Book Review – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

thekiterunnercover

The only question I was asking myself after I finished reading this book is: Why didn’t I read this masterpiece before?

The Kite Runner piqued my interest from the first few pages itself. The language exuded class yet was dipped in an ocean of simplicity. The intricate relationship that Baba, Amir, and Hassan share was depicted with such expertise that by the time the first 30% of the novel was completed and the first heart-wrenching scene arrived, (I won’t reveal it as it could be a spoiler) I was drenched in a pool of tears.

The characterization of all characters is excellent, despite having a single POV throughout the book, except for one chapter (from Rahim Khan’s POV). All the characters are bathed in shades of white or dark, but still one can empathize with them. The pace is excellent throughout. I never felt bored for even a single second. The secret of a main character which is revealed at around half of the book was totally unexpected and devastating.

The language is exemplary; poetic and literary to the core, despite using simple words. Several sentences made you pause, re-read them, and marvel at their beauty. There are Indian commercial authors who have the ability to tug at your heartstrings (like Ravinder Singh, Durjoy Datta), but their language leaves a lot to be desired. And there are literary authors like Arundhati Roy, Jhumpa Lahiri who write well but fail to move you. However, Khaled Hosseini maintains perfect balance, melting your heart despite keeping the literary quotient at a very high level. Kudos to such rare talent. I can only recall ‘Trail of Broken Wings’ as a literary book which was capable of evoking strong emotion, especially towards the end. Although the author blends a few Afghan words into the narrative every now and then, they are well explained and suited to the scene/dialogue.

Towards the end of the book I was dissolved in an ocean of tears. The Kite Runner is a heartbreaking yet realistic tale. In the review of ‘The Notebook’ by Nicholas Sparks I said 5 stars is insufficient for that book, especially the last chapter. But for this, 100 stars doesn’t do justice to the quality and soul of this breathtaking, moving book. Khaled Hosseini has got another die-hard fan now – me. This book and its deep emotions will stay within me forever.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Yet to read this also! I’m really glad you liked it so much. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Pankaj Giri says:

      Thank you so much for your comment. This is one of the first comments I’ve got on my reviews. This is a must read.. Hope you like it.. I’d love to read your review on the book.. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. erinclosetreader says:

    This is one of my favourite books, I read it in two days because I just couldn’t put it down! I have a few of Hosseini’s other books which I hope to start reading soon πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Pankaj Giri says:

      Cool.. This had become one of my favorites too. flawless writing.. My wife gifted me the other two books and even I’m yet to read them.. but i’m sure they will be awesome.. I’m a bit preoccupied writing my second book so will take some time to finish them, I guess.. πŸ™‚ Glad you liked my review..

      Like

  3. HiPankaj sir,
    This is truly amazing review…
    I didn’t know that you are also such a fabulous reviewer, specially after reading your old reviews where you had unfortunately kept negative mindset like other reviewers who targeted your tough language in FLAKE. But this review is truly amazing… Though you didn’t review in detailed like me, you have covered almost each and every aspect of the book which is really commendable…Might be, you admire my reviewing style, but believe me, I also learnt something to improve my style from your review. And yes, Hats off to your command on English.. I have been a fan of your language.
    Good luck sir!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pankaj Giri says:

    Wow thank you so much Rajesh D. Hajare for reading, liking, and even sharing it with such a nice message.. Really appreciate the praise, especially coming from such a good reviewer like you.. I’m flattered.. Thanks for liking the language, too. Although I generally use very simple language in my reviews, but this time I used a hint of my newly acquired poetic style too.. Thanks again πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

